Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins

June 2, 2008 at 10:48 am 2 comments

Joanna from Lost in the Kitchen posted a low-fat banana bread recipe that I had been wanting to try.  I don’t have a loaf pan (yet), so I thought I’d give the recipe a little twist and make it into muffins instead.  Then, I realized I had some mini chocolate chips on hand and decided to throw those in as well.  Unfortunately, it’s no longer a true low-fat recipe, but it’s the taste that counts, right? Trust me, these are very, very good!

Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins

(Inspired by Joanna and Cooking Light)
Ingredients:
2 cups all-purpose flour
3/4 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 cup sugar
1/4 cup butter, softened
2 large eggs
1 1/2 cups mashed ripe banana
1/3 cup plain low-fat yogurt
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/3 cup mini chocolate chips

To Make:
Preheat Oven to 350 degrees.  In a medium bowl, mix together flour, baking soda and salt.  Set aside.  In a large bowl beat together sugar and butter.  Gradually add eggs, one at a time, until thoroughly mixed.  Add banana, yogurt and vanilla.  Add flour mixture to wet ingredients gradually until moist.  Stir in chocolate chips.  Place muffin liners in muffin pan and fill with batter.  Bake at 350 degrees for about 25-30 minutes.  Muffins are done when toothpick inserted into center comes out clean.

Yield:
10 muffins 

Entry filed under: baking, breakfast. Tags: , , , , , , .

Pear & Raspberry Mini-Cakes

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. joanna  |  July 3, 2008 at 12:00 pm

    Hi Amy!

    Glad you liked these – making muffins is out of this recipe is a good idea! I have like a million bananas in my freezer so I’ll have to make them soon! 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. francesca  |  July 4, 2008 at 9:29 pm

    good idea to put the chocolate chips, I will try next time I will prepare my banana bread

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Recent Posts

Flickr Photos


